About the Spirit Lake Community School Foundation

The Spirit Lake Community School Foundation was founded in 1986 to provide financial support to enhance excellence in its educational programs and encourage post-secondary education by providing scholarships for graduating seniors.

Burton Newell, president of the Spirit Lake Community Schools Board of Education, formed a committee in 1985 to study the option of establishing a school foundation. The SLCS Foundation was formalized in 1986 with $20,000 in donations. Donations have grown significantly over the years.

Since 1986, over $1,000,000 has been granted to SLCS graduates for post-secondary education and for academic enrichment grants to elementary, middle and high school teachers for projects above and beyond required expectations.

It is our goal is to provide EVERY Spirit Lake graduate (who applies for a scholarship) with a scholarship for post-secondary education.

Contribute Today

Spirit Lake Community School Foundation Trustees

  • Susan Maahs
  • Tony Jennings
  • Barbara Mendenhall
  • Deb Ditsworth
  • Todd Hummel
  • Nancy Pringnitz
  • Annette Kalkhoff
  • Dave Rowley
  • Lori Pedersen
  • Josh Bolluyt


  • David SmithSLCS Superintendent

Spirit Lake School Website

Learn more about Spirit Lake Community School and stay up to date about current events and happenings at the school.

Spirit Lake School Website

Want to Help?

Gifts of any amount are appreciated and will have a tremendous impact on the school’s programs today and in the future.

Contribute Today